Super Tuesday not so super

I was watching the results of super Tuesday and kicking myself for doing it.  Everyone is claiming to be Americas choice and savior.  I noticed that my state; the state of Monroe, Jefferson, Washington, Madison, Wilson, Tyler, Taylor and Harrison picked Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton. The Presidents who railed against political parties, gave woman suffrage, formed the constitution to separate church and state.  They created the Monroe Doctrine, the declaration of independence and the bill of rights.  This is what they have chosen to represent out state.

I hate to tell Donald Trump but my Irish great great Grandfather hid on a boat to come here from Ireland to keep from starving.  He didn’t have a passport or a visa.  He was treated like crap in New York and migrated to the mountains of VA to remain and impoverished laborer his whole life. He married a local woman and had 8 children, one was my great grandfather.  He was not a rapist or a drug dealer.

I have relatives that did Loftin Walton, Great Grandpa wiggington, Robert bohon, and a bishop.  Two died leaving widows and numerous children. That war was the worst in our nation and we still suffer from it.  I look at statues for the confederate dead with mixed feelings.  They fought for a cause that was wrong with slavery, but correct in terms of states rights. They fought for Virginia.

I remember tales of my mountain relatives working along side the negro trying to survive and they all helped each other.  They didn’t need food stamps and grew their own food and shared with others.

My Father, my uncle and my husband are veterans and gun owners.  We hardly are what you would call extremists, richies, bigots.  We don’t have to take our gun to chipotle or Walmart to show how patriotic we are to others.  Their service and actions show that, not a gun.  And by the way, Obama hasn’t come for them and never will.

My Grandpa Doyle was my favorite human being on earth.  He was a lifelong union democrat.  He would argue politics with his republican sons.  I grew up in a house where woman could speak their mind.  I was college educated and it was encouraged that I do so.  I remember taking my grandma to vote and we each voted for a separate candidate.  Everyone discussed points of view and got along.   My Grandpa had black people in his house when it wasn’t cool.  He worked for the rail road and thought Jim Crow laws were stupid as he had to separate the passengers when they left WV into VA.  He loved JFK and thought his death was the greatest tragedy of his life. He worked his ass off from a small child until he was 72 years old.  Yet, he didn’t begrudge people being poor and getting help.  He helped many of his poor relatives, his church without complaint.  He sent nephews and nieces to college. He died a man with money in the bank and his funeral at the age of 93 was standing room only.

I wish I could ask him about the candidates running for president and get his take on it.  I guess he would be a Hillary supporter since he is a Democrat.  Yet I am not sure he would like a woman president.  He would not like Donald Trump because he is a Yankee.  He tended to prefer people that worked hard, not behind desks.  He didn’t like racists.  He also told me his Mother died from having too many children.  He would have thought the crap about birth control was stupid.  He lost his mother when he was 12, when she and her 9th child died together.  He attributed too many kids to poverty.  He only had two children, because he didn’t want to lose my grandma to childbirth.  They were married 59 years.  He wouldn’t have liked candidates that were divorced.  That was a moral failing to him to not keep your wife happy and not to cherish her.  He read the Bible every day for 53 years.  He would not recognize who we call Christians today. I am quite sure he would be for immigration.  His Mother was part Cherokee. He was very family oriented.  He talked about Ireland fondly, even though he never went there.  It was a part of him.

He would not like all the debates with yelling and name calling.  Men act like gentleman.  He always wore a hat and tipped it to a lady.  He could get the point across without  being an asshole.  He never had a gun that I knew of, but I also know anyone that would have crossed him.  When the blacks moved into his neighborhood, he was the last white to move out.  He didn’t see why he had to move, just because some black folks moved in.  He made friends with them.  He eventually had to move because the neighborhood became dangerous.  He missed his house and called the owners every day until he died to check  on it.

I cannot vote for any of the Republican candidate right now.  They are too extreme for me. I don’t think walls will keep anyone out of our country.  I don’t think corporations are people and they aren’t a religion.  Gay people are not the enemy and big government interventions in my bedroom are not needed. I don’t want to hear someone’s religious testimony at a political rally. I don’t care about your religion to govern me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

